Some thoughts on how to talk to, engage with girls

I Do Not Want My Daughter To Be Nice:

One mother’s tale of how her daughter doesn’t smile gratuitously to appease strangers, and how that is just fine.

I read this and wished I had had more of this role modeled for me as a child. I am endlessly smiling. It’s a midwestern point of pride to be nice. I don’t like to hurt feelings. Though, I am proud that I am also getting better at this. I now take AS MUCH care of my feelings as someone I’m in a situation with. Previously there was a tendency to care about their happiness MORE, at the expense of my own. This is no longer the case.

http://parenting.blogs.nytimes.com/2013/07/31/i-do-not-want-my-daughter-to-be-nice/


 

How to Talk to Little Girls:

“Not once did we discuss clothes or hair or bodies or who was pretty. It’s surprising how hard it is to stay away from those topics with little girls, but I’m stubborn.”

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/lisa-bloom/how-to-talk-to-little-gir_b_882510.html

 

Leave a Reply

